Grocery Haul and Meal Plan: Week of 1/31/16

Lately I’ve been really into watching Youtube videos of grocery hauls.  I’m not sure why.  I guess I just like seeing what other people buy!  It also gives me ideas of new products to try sometimes.

I hate seeing myself on camera, so I know I would never do a vlog, but I thought I could do the next best thing-blog!

I usually do my grocery shopping on Saturdays for the week.  I don’t have a set budget, but do try to buy what is on sale.

Here is what I bought this week:

DSC00109

I know, this isn’t healthy, but I like snacks!  The sweet potato tortilla chips and Spanish rice mix will be part of meals during the week.  I eat cereal most mornings for breakfast and the snack mix, popcorn and Doritos are for snacking throughout the week.

DSC00114

For produce I have:

  • Spinach
  • One lime
  • One bulb of garlic
  • One red onion
  • Two avocados
  • Baby carrots
  • Two Fuji apples
  • One red bell pepper
  • One yellow bell pepper
  • Green beans
  • Bananas

DSC00116

For meats/proteins, I got:

  • Deli turkey (oven roasted and honey glazed)
  • Ground pork
  • Chicken breast (they were buy one, get one free, so I got two packages)
  • Shrimp
  • Eggs

DSC00117

For dairy/frozen foods I purchased:

  • Orange juice
  • Milk
  • Frozen waffles
  • Greek yogurt (I think I got about 10, both my husband and I take one to work everyday)

This is my dinner plan for the week:

Sunday: Chicken fajitas with Spanish rice

Monday: Szechuan Green Beans with Ground Pork

Tuesday: Lo Mein with shrimp

Wednesday: Quinoa chili – I already have this in the freezer.  I make this with ground turkey, and make a few minor changes to the recipe based on what I have.  I scoop this up with the sweet potato tortilla chips.  They’re so good!

Thursday: Leftovers

Friday: We always do takeout!  I’m the only one who cooks, so by the end of the week I need a break! 🙂

Saturday: We usually go out somewhere.

For breakfasts, I’ll usually have cereal, yogurt and fruit.  Sometimes I’ll have hard boiled eggs and smoothies.  Lunch is usually a simple sandwich or leftovers.  I’ll eat out for lunch one or twice a week, because I do tend to get bored with sandwiches, or want to save leftovers for dinner.

That’s it for this week!  I may be stopping by Trader Joe’s tomorrow, and will try to blog about that!

 

 

Leave a Reply

